NT Update May 2021

Firstly, I will leave this link to the 2021 calendar here for those who may not have yet seen it from the last email.
IPSCNT 2021 CALENDAR as of 18.1.21
portal-aus.iroascoring.com is the address to use for all your match results needs.
The ECM system (ecm-aus.iroascoring.com ) is the address to use for registering for the matches.

If you just skipped the above paragraph please take a moment to go back and read it.
Further to the above, if are using ECM for the first time you must first register yourself as a user and then register for the match you want to shoot. After the first time you just register for the match.

Last weekend saw the biggest local match on the IPSCNT calendar, the 2021 Handgun Championships, held at Darwin Pistol Club. Competitors and Range Officers from all the Australian Sections were present along with two Range Officer’s from Papua New Guinea, by way of Sydney.  In total 84 competitors shot the 195 round 12 stage match sending at least 16 380 rounds safely down range, though I think the total would have been closer to 20 000 as I am sure most people had at least “a few” back ups.
Though some of the stages may have seemed deceptively simple, I believe that the predominance of medium to longer range targets with some strategically placed no-shoots may have caught more then a few out over the course of the match. I do know that there was at least a couple of fail to engage penalties awarded on targets that were “hiding in plain sight”.  Well done to the designers and build crew.
With so many top Interstate competitors attending it is perhaps no real surprise that some of them won their Division. In these cases the highest place Territorian is named Northern Territory Champion. This happened in the following Divisions:
Production Optics Light won by Dave Owen with NT Champion being Jim Dick,
Production Optics won by Shaun Hannant with NT Champion being Lenin Villamar,
Production won by James Phegan with NT Champion being Brendan von Gerhardt and NT Ladies Champion being Carolyn McDonald,
Standard won by Scott Manson with NT Champion being Warren Gibb and NT Ladies Champion being Iveta Saitz.
The three Divisions won outright by Territorians were Revolver with Dale Davies, Classic with Mark Walklin who was also Match Director and Open with Gareth Graham who was also Range Master for the match. The NT Classic Ladies Champion is Loraine Caldwell with Jodie Astell being the NT Open Ladies Champion. Well done to all the winners and indeed to everyone who shot the match.
On a sadder note, Ben has now officially lost his Fail at Chrono title.  “New Ben” will now hold that title until he can pass it on to the next competitor who goes Sub-Minor.
I would like to thank everyone involved in organising and running the match including but not limited to the stage designers and builders, the range staff local, Interstate and International, including Stats and IT staff, Quartermaster and kitchen and bar staff.
I believe everyone very much enjoyed the match and hope that competitors went away with some aspects of the sport in mind to practice in the continued pursuit of excellence in shooting.

With that in mind, I hope that everyone going to the Nationals are well into their preparations to compete at the biggest, most prestiguous match on the IPSC Australia calendar.  As most would be aware,  entry numbers for this year’s Nationals have been capped for, I believe, the first time ever.  As we as an Associate grow with more and more members wanting to compete at the National level and only a limited number of clubs around the country with the ability to hold such big events, I can see that this may become the norm in future.  I would suggest for people wanting to shoot any of the big matches to not muck around until the last minute to enter or you may well miss out.
With TEPSL scheduled to host the Handgun, Rifle and Shotgun Nationals next year I would especially urge Territorians to sign up as soon as entries are open as it would be a shame to miss out on a Nationals in your own backyard.